current
archives
profile
me
rings
alpha
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

on the bum
March 21, 2006 - 2:57 pm

I've been sitting at the ref desk since I got here at 12.30. I think I like my nighttime gigs, since I get to read stuff and help people and not be stuck at my cubby in back where there are no windows.
What I don't like is that I won't be able to watch American Idol. This is seriously sad for me.
Do you know about Charles Bukowski? He is a great man poet who writes about love and lust and beer and whores and bars and smoking and I'm reading his "Bone Palace Ballet" set of poems, and I found something I had to share.


From "on the bum" by Charles Bukowski:
work shoes
work shoes
work shoes
and me
inside of
them with
all the lights
turned
out.


I feel like that at work sometimes; I think that is Bukowski's way of saying he is sleeping in his head, which is a phrase Leona came up with in college to explain what happened to her during Astronomy lectures.
I sleep in my head here only occasionally. Most of the time, I am leaping about and helping the world, one question at a time.
Wish me luck on Friday as I have entered a Euchere tourny at my townhouse complex.

yesterday - tomorrow

# L DykeWrite2