current
archives
profile
me
rings
alpha
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

2006, A Little Late
January 03, 2007 - 6:48 pm

1.What did you do in 2006 that you'd never done before?

Hmm. I ordered fish at a restaurant of my own free will. I smuggled a live animal across international borders. I am holding down my first "real" job, with about 10 bits of flair.


2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I can't seem to remember any resolutions per se, but this year's are keeping a balanced check book, eating more fish and not needing a side dish for every main one (i.e., don't always need fries with burger).

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Well, people I used to be close to gave birth, and I know about 3 prego people right now, so next year I will have a yes in here.


4. Did anyone close to you die?

No, thank god.

5. What countries did you visit?

Canada. Not so much travelling this year.

6. What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006?

I would like more endurance. More sex. More drugs. More rock and roll.

7. What date from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

March 3--The day I started my job.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

I pulled off a sucessful party and program at work. I reinstated the Weinstein WorkOut to some degree. I made it through the year.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Electical? About a 10 minute outage during a storm. I don't count personal failure.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

My damn bitch knee has acted up, but otherwise, things have been ok.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

A desk and filing cabinet for the living room.


12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?


Mrs. Cat's.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

A lot of the patrons who come in with last minute projects and demand things.


14. Where did most of your money go?

Rent. Food. Sex toys. IKEA. Candles.


15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

It was great to realize that being a librarian is a great match for me. Plus, chocolate is always exciting.

16. What song will always remind you of 2006?

"Crazy," Gnarls Barkley. "Horse and Cherry Tree," KT Tinsdale.


17. Compared to this time last year, are you:


i. happier or sadder?


Both, depending on the day.

ii. thinner or fatter?


I honestly have no idea.


iii. richer or poorer?


Poorer.


18. What do you wish you'd done more of?


More exercise! More movies. Less books. Ha.


19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Hating others. Waiting.

20. Did you fall in love in 2006?


Yes, with Bogie.


21.How many one-night stands?


Notta one.


23. What was your favourite TV program?


"Heroes" and "Ugly Betty" and "House"


25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?


Yes, I didn't know a certain co-worker but now I do and I wish I didn't.


26. What was the best book you read?


"A Brief History of the Dead" by K. Brockmeier


27. What was your greatest musical discovery?


Liz Phair all over again.


28. What did you want and get?


I wanted to have a nice place to live and I do. I wanted no snow and there is none. I want a life size baby of my very own and...that one didn't work out this year.


29. What did you want and not get?


A pony ride.


30. What was your favourite film of this year?


"Little Miss Sunshine" and "Transamerica."


31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?


I turned 27 and Andrea and I went up to an awesome B&B near Torch Lake. There was cake and champagne and napping outside.


32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably satisfying?

Cooking more. Throwing things away is always a satisfying experience.


33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006?


Librarian chic.


34. What kept you sane?

Unlimited text messaging. My mom. Comfy sheets.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Oh dear. Unclear.


36. What political issue stirred you the most?

Affirmative action, prop 2 here in Michigan. Also, the dove hunting proposition.


37. Who did you miss?


My Bubbie. Amy. Robert Louis.


38. Who was the best new person you met?

I suppose Lindsay and Karen, my two young-ish co-workers.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006:

Leaving 5 minutes earlier in the morning means you get to work 5 minutes earlier and then you won't be late everyday!

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

From Pink's "Leave Me Alone (I'm Lonely)"
Go away
Give me a chance to miss you
Say goodbye
It'll make me want to kiss you
I love you so
Much more when you're not here.

yesterday - tomorrow

# L DykeWrite2