current
archives
profile
me
rings
alpha
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Married
January 11, 2007 - 11:36 am

I get a daily email from the Writers' Almanac, and they send a poem a day. Sometimes, I really like them and sometimes I don't. I like today's.

Poem: "I Married You" by Linda Pastan, from Queen of a Rainy Country. W. W. Norton & Company. Reprinted with permission.

I Married You

I married you
for all the wrong reasons,
charmed by your
dangerous family history,
by the innocent muscles, bulging
like hidden weapons
under your shirt,
by your naive ties, the colors
of painted scraps of sunset.

I was charmed too
by your assumptions
about me: my serenity ?
that mirror waiting to be cracked,
my flashy acrobatics with knives
in the kitchen.
How wrong we both were
about each other,
and how happy we have been.

yesterday - tomorrow

# L DykeWrite2