current
archives
profile
me
rings
alpha
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

1 Year
March 01, 2008 - 9:39 am

Well, today is the day: the official 1 year anniversary of my gastric bypass. In honor of that, I thought I would do the lists of gains and losses to see what's been going on.
GAINS:
Great new relationship with caring partner
Hockey team
New wardrobe
Appreciation of what my body is capable of
New apartment
Worries about maintaining said new things
Better self-esteem
LOSSES:
120 pounds
Many clothing sizes (26 to a 10)
Bad realtionship
Bathtub with mold
Isolation
I've also kind of lost the ability to not care. Or I don't care differently. Like, when I was heavier, I didn't pay attention to what I ate; I just ate whatever. I also didn't really take the time to get ready in the morning. I sort of stopped caring. Now I care about things, but I still sort of do the "bad" things and then feel guilty. So I am trying to come to terms with caring about myself and allowing that to be ok. It's ok to put yourself first and care about what you eat and how and when.
This is actaully a much harder concept for me to put into practice than it should be.
I'll add more to my lists later I think, but like the song says, I'm half man I used to be.

yesterday - tomorrow

# L DykeWrite2