current
archives
profile
me
rings
alpha
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Jared the Jewish Subway Dyke and Me
November 09, 2006 - 12:04 pm

Hey, guess what? I am the offical spokesperson for the Jews! I bet you are now extra glad that you know me. I'm kind of used to being a spokesperson for an entire group of people; after all, my brother and I were the 2 Jewish kids in our 1200 person high school, so I often had to go it alone in explaining Hanukkah, Passover and how I didn't kill Jesus (at least, not that I was aware of).

Here in the library where I work, I am apparently one of the few, the proud, the Jews. Today a man wanted to talk to me about my definition of race. He was like 97. I suppose it was my mistake since he was researching the kabbalah and I told him it was something I had heard of before and he asked me how and I said I was Jewish. I should have gone the Madonna has a red string bracelet route, but no. So he left. Then he CAME BACK to talk to me about my views on race. Luckily, another patron came and wanted to know how to do a criminal background check on somebody, so I was saved by saying I simply didn't have time to get into it. A few weeks ago, a man just looked at my name tag, saw my last name and asked me if I lived in Bloomfield Hills, one of the more Jewish parts of Detroit.

I am often a spokesdyke as well. People are not used to lesbians still, even if they think they are. They still ask questions. I don't mind being the spokesdyke as much as I do the speakerJew.

My dad is kind of obsessed with J@red the Subway Guy. He asks me about him a lot, as in, "Hey, you could do that diet like J@red, the Subway Guy, before you go and do something like get surgery." Well pops, as much as I'd like them to, my insurance will not cover daily visits to Subway as a permanant weightloss plan and diet solution. Le sigh. I know. I've asked.

yesterday - tomorrow

# L DykeWrite2