current
archives
profile
me
rings
alpha
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Wedding Weekend
July 08, 2007 - 2:21 pm

Melissa's wedding was this weekend, and it was a swanky affair. Held at a huge hotel with like 500 different banquet rooms, I thought the one we would be in had a chocolate fountain and I nearly lost it. Luckily, her reception was chocolate fountain free.
I found eating to be a real challenge this weekend since I had no routine. I didn't get in my protein, even though I did try. I also didn't drink enough water, and I can't even say I really tried there. I felt kind of bloated and sickly most of the weekend. It was hard when everyone had wedding cake and I had to sit there and smile like it was no big deal but really it took every ounce of me not to gobble up my piece and say fuck the consequences.
Also, the wedding was interesting because it was kind of spartan. There were no decorations in the church. Not a single flower, ribbon or bow anywhere. Oddly, the bridesmaids weren't carrying flowers; they were carrying groups of leaves. It was a little green grouping of leaves and Melissa had white roses. At the reception hall, they barely had flowers either. I think they chose to spend their money on the food (steak, shrimp, potatoes, late night quesadillas) and her dress (rumored to be $4500) and not on other things.
It made me think about my wedding, about how I really want to have a wedding, a party where family comes and eats and smiles and dances and love is celebrated. I know I want some sugar free desserts at my wedding besides just fruit (which was actually really tasty). I kind of felt lonely, even though many people took me out for a spin on the dance floor. I had to explain that I have an ingrown desire to lead and I can't NOT lead when I dance. Some boys are thrown off by this, but drunken ones tend not to notice and that works out well. My dress looked nice, but my shoes didn't like me and I have to wear them today at work anyway even though I have blisters. Damn you, Payless.
It was so good to see the Phis though. It is always like we have never left each other, just picking up where we left off. I liked Carrie's new Sam. He was bald, which I wasn't expecting, but she seemed soo happy.

yesterday - tomorrow

# L DykeWrite2